First Big Ride of the Year

This Sunday I went on my first big ride of the year, a loop from home down to Biggar, stopping at Broughton for a cafe lunch.  So, I thought it was a good time to mark the occasion in the blog and let everyone know what I’ve been up to and what I’m doing this year.ScreenClip

I got a Turbo trainer for Christmas (thanks Dad) and maybe it is the novelty of it so far, but I quite enjoy using it.  Okay, enjoy is probably not the right word, and it certainly isn’t the same as getting outside and into the wild world, but it does help with the fitness and made this 120km trip not too arduous for this time of year.  At the same time last year, I hadn’t even done a total of 120km, let alone thinking about doing it in one day.  In fact, on the same hills back from Biggar last year in June, I seriously popped and struggled after only 80km.

So, things are looking good for my first major event on the 26th April, the Kinross Sportive.  I’m still to decide 100% which route to do, as the black route is extremely hilly – more than I’ve ever done before.

In May I’ll be doing the Etape Caledonia, a closed road, major sportive starting in Pitlochy, in June I’ll hope to do the Edinburgh to St. Andrews ride again as that was good fun.  Thinking further away, there’s the Graham Obree sportive in August and Pedal For Scotland again in September.  This year I’ll be doing the shorter 47 mile route with my son, that’s the plan anyway.

Leave a Reply

